A Sacrifice For The Greater Good

I’m weak,

But I feel so brave,

Not where it counts,

I’d never have what it takes,

I fantasize about it daily,

What if a gun was pointed to my head,

I’d take that shit,

Flip it real quick,

Have the shooter on his ass,

And be crowned a hero.

I’m not what I believe,

Based on something I can’t see,

I won’t amount to much,

Yet I still pretend it’s me,

Maybe it’s how I was raised?

If you’re too afraid to beat ’em, join ’em,

Claim what they do,

Bang what they do,

Sit and lie awake at what I’ve gotten myself into.

I know this isn’t who I am,

I want to be part of something,

A family like I never had,

I left them of my own volition,

To lead a better life,

I know I can,

After ten years,

Of feeling alone,

I’m tired of being all on my own,

There’s got to be something bigger,

More to life than a simple riddle.

Leave a comment